The Way of Faithfulness

In today’s responsive reading from Psalm 119, one word repeats throughout.  In verses 26, 26, 29 and 30, we find the word “way”:

I declared my ways, …

Make me understand the way of your precepts, …

Remove from me the way of falsehood, …

The way of truth I have chosen; …

And this caused me to ask myself: which “way” am I going today?  Do I even understand the right way?  Am I going the way of falsehood or the way of truth?

There seems to also be a progression to this Psalm.  First, the Psalmist acknowledges his own way, then asks for understanding of the right way and for God to remove false ways.  Finally, he confirms his to decision to follow the way of truth (or might should be translated faithfulness).

If you reflect this morning and think that you are not on the right way, consider using this Psalm as an opportunity to get back on track.  Acknowledge where you are; ask God for understanding and to remove false ways, so that you can choose the way of truth.

About Jeremy

I work at Holy Ghost Catholic Church in Hammond, LA. I teach part-time classes from time to time, through Loyola University in New Orleans, Notre Dame Seminary in New Orleans and St. Joseph's Abbey and Seminary College. I also just finished a doctoral degree in Biblical languages through the University of Stellenbosch in South Africa.
This entry was posted in Devotional, Lectionary and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

